Election to take place at PPL’s Annual Performer Meeting on 25 November 2015

PPL has announced that three candidates are standing in the election for two positions of Elected Performer Director at the PPL Annual Performer Meeting (APM) taking place later this month. The successful candidates will sit on both the main PPL Board and also the company’s Performer Board.

Those candidates are Crispin Hunt, Mark Kelly, and Jon Webster.

Crispin Hunt and Mark Kelly, as existing Elected Performer Directors, are retiring by rotation in accordance with PPL’s Articles of Association and standing for re-election.  Performers may nominate other candidates to stand in the election.  Following that process, which has now closed, Jon Webster has also been confirmed as an election candidate. Each candidate has provided a written election statement, and these can be viewed on PPL’s website here.

In addition to these two positions, there is a third Elected Performer Director position, currently held by Gerald Newson, Chairman of PPL’s Performer Board (who was re-elected at last year’s APM). Next year, following constitutional changes approved overwhelmingly at the PPL AGM in June 2015, a fourth Elected Performer Director will be elected.  This will increase the total number of PPL Performer Directors from five to six (sitting alongside eight record company directors, two executive directors from PPL’s management, and one non-industry director).  

PPL also recently announced that John Smith (General Secretary of the Musicians’ Union and President of the International Federation of Musicians) will take up the part-time role of PPL Chairman at the start of 2016, following the retirement of Fran Nevrkla OBE.

The PPL APM is being held at Rich Mix, London, on Wednesday 25 November 2015, for Eligible Performers (those registered with PPL who received a PPL performer payment in 2013 and/or 2014).

Eligible Performers can vote in the Performer Director elections via an online voting process being provided by Electoral Reform Services or, if they prefer, can vote at the APM itself (in person or by proxy). The election results will be announced at the APM.

Performer Board election updates and live coverage of the APM will be available at @PPLUK on Twitter. Use the dedicated #PPLAPM15 to search and join the conversation online.