APPJAG Summer Jazz in Portcullis House

In association with PPL and Yamaha, the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) will be hosting its annual Summer Jazz event in Portcullis House on Thursday 17 July, 19:30.

The event, which aims to spotlight the important contribution of those prestigious music institutions that offer full time degree courses in jazz, will also present seven final year university students with a £1000 Yamaha Jazz Scholarship award.

Summer Jazz will showcase music  from recipients of this year’s Yamaha Jazz Scholarship with a performance from each of the students selected: Mark Lewandowski, a double bass player and student at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, Ashley Henry, 22, a pianist at Leeds College of Music, Ed Haine, 25, a tenor saxophone player and student at the Birmingham Conservatoire, Tom Dennis of Deptford, 22, a trumpeter at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, Utsav Lal, 21, a pianist at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Scott Chapman, 22, a drummer and student at the Royal Academy of Music, and Dan Smith, 22, alto saxophonist and student at the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama.

On the evening, there will also be a special guest performance from acclaimed jazz composer and clarinettist Arun Ghosh, who was presented with the Instrumentalist of the Year accolade at the APPJAG Awards earlier this year.

APPJAG Summer Jazz in Portcullis House is chaired by Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn.

You can keep up-to-date with our event news by following @PPLUK on Twitter.