Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards 2014

The winners of this year’s Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards will be announced at a star-studded ceremony in central London on Thursday July 3.

Hailed as the greatest celebration of UK commercial radio, the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards, now in its 19th year, has become a landmark event in the commercial radio calendar, recognising a broad variety of achievement from within the industry, from presenters and programming to advertising and marketing.

PPL will be sponsoring two award categories; nominated for the PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio are pop favourites Olly Murs, Queen and Robbie Williams, and nominees for this year’s PPL Breakthrough UK Artist on Commercial Radio, include up-and-coming talent John Newman, Naughty Boy and Passenger.

The remaining nominations this year are led by Absolute Radio, scooping a total of nine, including Christian O’Connell in the Presenter of the Year and Breakfast Show of the Year categories (audience above 2m). Metro Radio receives five nominations, with Classic FM, Gem 106 and LBC close behind with four.

Breakfast Show of the Year (audience under 2m) will be hotly contested by Forth 1’s Boogie in the Morning, Capital FM South Wales and kmfm Breakfast with Rob and Emma, whilst CFM, Free Radio and Isle of Wight Radio fight it out Station of the Year (audience under 500,000)

The Awards are organised by RadioCentre, the industry body for commercial radio, and sponsored by telecommunications company, Arqiva. Christian O’Connell from Absolute Radio will host the awards taking place at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza Hotel. There will also be live music performances by special guests to be announced nearer to the event.

Click here to watch the highlights from the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards 2013.

For more information about the Awards, a full list of nominees and how to buy tickets, visit the dedicated website. You can also follow @ArqivaAwards on Twitter, or @PPLUK for more exciting event news from us.