Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2014

The 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards take place at the Terrace Pavilion, House of Commons on Tuesday 13 May.

This year, the award categories for this widely-anticipated event have been updated and expanded – the ‘Musician of the Year’ category will change to become ‘Instrumentalist of the Year’ and ‘Vocalist of the Year – to allow for greater acknowledgment of the various art forms comprising jazz performance. There is also the introduction of the ‘Jazz Newcomer of the Year’ award which will recognise the finest fresh talent from the last twelve months.

The full list of nominees is as follows:
Jazz Vocalist of the Year
Christine Tobin
Lauren Kinsella
Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year
Arun Ghosh
Laura Jurd
Mike Walker

Jazz Album of the Year
Mark Lockheart ‘Ellington In Anticipation’
Soweto Kinch ‘The Legend Of Mike Smith’
Troykestra ‘Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival’

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Beats & Pieces Big Band
Kairos 4tet
Sons of Kemet

Jazz Newcomer of the Year
Lauren Kinsella, Thought-Fox
Phil Meadows
Reuben Fowler Big Band

Jazz Venue of the Year
EFG London Jazz Festival
Love Supreme Jazz Festival
Manchester Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award
'Dizzy Gillespie Was At My Wedding: Jubilance and Woe’ by Dick Pearce
Jamie Cullum

Jazz Education Award
Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective
John Ellis, Doncaster Youth Jazz Association
Leeds College of Music

Services to Jazz Award
David Redfern
Evan Parker
John Taylor

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards is organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), and supported by PPL in conjunction with Jazz Services, JazzUK, Jazzwise, and the Jazz Section of the Musicians’ Union.

Jonathan Morrish, Director of PR and Corporate Communications, PPL, said: “As always PPL is proud to be a sponsor of the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. They have become an increasingly significant event in the calendar of the jazz year and, importantly, continue to help raise the profile of jazz as a genre as well as jazz musicians. It is appropriate that this year sees a greater emphasis on performers with new categories that include jazz vocalist, jazz instrumentalist and jazz newcomer. This year is also special because it represents the tenth year of PPL’s association with the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) and is a relationship that we value very much.”

Follow @ppluk or @jazzservices on Twitter to keep updated about this event, using #APPJAGs to join in the conversation.