The UK Parliamentary Jazz Awards are now Britain’s premier awards for the Jazz community and Jazz fans in both Houses.

Last night, the House of Commons played host to the seventh PPL sponsored Parliamentary Jazz Awards which was attended by a record number of MPs and peers, showing a cross-party love of jazz. Hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini, many MPs, Peers and renowned jazz musicians were present on the night including Jamie Cullum, Dame Cleo Laine and Lord David Steel of Aikwood.

The full list of winners is:

Jazz Musician of the Year

Brian Kellock

Long admired north of the border as an artist with an unusually broad range of jazz colours in his palette, this distinctive and exuberant Edinburgh pianist is beginning to make waves on a wider pond. Recent tour triumphs with singers have also enhanced his reputation as an outstanding accompanist, first choice of US doyenne Sheila Jordan and Liane Carroll.

Jazz Album of the Year

John Turville 'Midas'

Turville is a conservatoire-trained British pianist with very broadly-based resources – and the harmonic subtlety of his playing often recalls piano giants like Bill Evans, Keith Jarrett, and the UK's John Taylor. Midas is an acoustic trio album also featuring a fine rhythm section of bassist Chris Hill and drummer Ben Reynolds, and - in the Bill Evans tradition - it's a conversational venture between all three, despite the leader clearly being the driving force with a series of powerful solos that constantly change melodic tack and develop fresh ideas.

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Brass Jaw

Brass Jaw is a unique ensemble in the jazz world. Comprised of four of Scotland's leading jazz musicians, all of whom have experience as composers and bandleaders in their own right. Their music, which includes original pieces specifically composed for the group and a range of covers from The Beatles to Frank Zappa, is tightly rhythmical, funky, hugely imaginative and superbly expressive, with creatively daring solos and meticulously arranged ensemble work.

Jazz Venue/Promoter of the Year

The Hideaway (London)

Now in its second year, the Hideaway has brought top jazz to south London seven nights a week. Located in Streatham, businesswoman and jazz lover, Fran Strachan has created a beautifully laid out and tastefully decorated club with a real ambience, attracting locals and jazzers from all over London.

Jazz Journalist of the Year

John Fordham

An author, critic, and broadcaster, whose reviews are keenly followed by musicians as well as fans, John Fordham has been known to the British jazz public for his finely-honed critiques and observations for more than three decades. Fordham has a broad-church approach to jazz and an open mind, as happy writing about The Bad Plus as he is about Humphrey Lyttleton.

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year

Paul Barnes

Paul has worked as presenter and reporter for over 40 years, on Today, The World at One, Woman's Hour, Sunday, Outlook (World Service), Jazz Notes and numerous other series and single programmes. Paul's love for the music has never left him, and the breadth of his enthusiasm is reflected in what he plays on his BBC radio show 'The Late Paul Barnes' broadcast in the East of England.

Jazz Publication of the Year

'Goin' Home: The Uncompromising Life and Music of Ken Colyer' by Mike Pointon, Ray Smith, Martin Colyer

With its title taken from Ken Colyer's song dedicated to his beloved New Orleans, this lavish, full colour paperback is mainly based on interviews with Colyer himself. Musicians and writers, Mike Pointon and Ray Smith both played with this British trad legend. This chronicle of a remarkable character is also a slice of social history.

Jazz Education Award

Dr Ian Darrington MBE

In March this year Ian Darrington retired from his post as Director of Jazz Performance for Wigan Council Education Department, having joined their instrumental teaching staff in September 1977. He held the post of musical director of the award winning Wigan Youth Jazz Orchestra for over twenty years. There can be no doubt of Ian's outstanding contribution to jazz education in Wigan, not only for young people, but also for the wider community through his work as founder and director of the Wigan International Jazz Festival and co-founder of the Wigan Jazz Club. Ian's work has acted as an inspirational model not only in the UK but globally.

Services to Jazz Award

Coleridge Goode

Coleridge Goode, born in Jamaica in 1914, has had a remarkably rich and varied career performing jazz at the highest level - detailed in his autobiography Bass Lines: A Life in Jazz (with Roger Cotterrell, 2002) – which is extremely significant in the history of jazz in Britain. Goode was one of the pioneers of double-bass amplification, and is often noted for his long-term collaboration with innovative saxophonist Joe Harriott.

APPJAG Special Award

Dame Cleo Laine

Cleo is the undisputed queen of British jazz. Together with her late husband, John Dankworth, their names are synonymous with jazz in this country and indeed the world. This is an exceptional award, rarely given. It recognises the exceptional talent of Cleo Laine and the enjoyment she has given to so many people over the years.

"Each year we are knocked out by the consistent quality of the UK jazz scene, with long serving players, writers, educators and promoters being joined by a new generation of talent. We hope our Parliamentary Jazz Awards help encourage this creativity and draw others to share our enjoyment of British jazz" said Michael Connarty MP, APPJAG Co-Chairman.

Guests were treated to a performance by James Pearson and the Ronnie Scott's All Stars.

The APPJAG has members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians' understanding of the jazz industry, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside of Parliament. The Group's officers are Co-Chairs Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn, and Secretary Joan Walley, MP.