Today (Monday 19th August, 2013) the shortlist for this year’s Welsh Music Prize has been announced by Huw Stephens and John Rostron.

The shortlist, which was voted for by a number of music industry experts, contains English and Welsh language recordings from both new and established artists.

The shortlisted albums are:

  • Euros Childs – Summer Special
  • Fist of the First Man – Fist of the First Man
  • Georgia Ruth – Week of Pines
  • Laurence Made Me Cry – The Diary of Me
  • Little Arrow – Wild Wishes
  • Metabeats – Caviar Crackle
  • Neon Neon – Praxis Makes Perfect
  • Race Horses – Furniture
  • Sweet Baboo – Ships
  • Trwbador – Trwbador
  • Winter Villains – February
  • Zervas and Pepper – Lifebringer


Now in its third year, the winner of last year’s Welsh Music Prize was Future of the Left for their album The Plot Against Common Sense and the previous year it was won by Gruff Rhys for Hotel Shampoo. 

John Rostron, Welsh Music Prize co-founder and Sŵn Festival organiser said: “The shortlist announcement is particularly exciting as we know that people from all over the world use it as a starting point to dive into new music from Wales. It's wonderful that the Welsh Music Prize has begun to help acts from Wales reach new international audiences. It compliments the work we do at Sŵn Festival, and that others like Green Man Festival, Festival Number 6, Womex and Laugharne do to promote the best of Wales culture globally. Everyone should dip into this list and try some records that might be new to them!”

Huw Stephens, Welsh Music Prize co-founder and Swn Festival organiser added: “It's the third year of the Welsh Music Prize, and we are pleased that it continues to grow in stature. This year's shortlist is again an eclectic and exciting one, all chosen by our jury of more than 100 members from across Wales who spoke up for the albums they felt deserved a greater platform. This year's prize, which forms part of Sŵn Festival, will be an exciting one and we looking forward to celebrating all the nominees this year”.

In September and October, a panel of twelve music industry experts will form the judging panel for the Welsh Music Prize. Previous judges have included: Mike Williams (Editor, NME), Neil Pengelly (Reading Festival Booker), Lisa Gwilym (BBC Radio Cymru) and Peredur ap Gwynedd (member of Pendulum). Details of this year’s panel will be announced later this month.

The Judges will meet in early October to narrow down the list and submit their votes on a final five albums in the following weeks.

The Welsh Music Prize this year will be supported by PPL and Jack Daniel’s JD Roots.

Peter Leathem, CEO, PPL, said: “We are extremely proud to be supporting this year’s Welsh Music Prize. Helping to showcase the incredible diversity of the Welsh music scene whilst bringing this music to wider audiences is something that we are very proud to be a part of. For the last three years, the Prize has built a great reputation, recognising and creating a strong platform for Welsh talent. We look forward to what this year’s Prize will bring”.

JD Roots added: “We're delighted to be involved with the Welsh Music Prize this year. Welsh artists have played a significant role in exporting the best music the UK has to offer all over the world for decades. By recognising the people responsible for that helps ensure that this hotbed of creativity continues its legacy for generations to come. We look forward to seeing what the 2012-13 Prize brings.”

The Welsh Music Prize will be awarded at a ceremony at Kuku Club, Cardiff on Thursday 17th October. 

Additionally there will be a Welsh Music Prize concert on Wednesday 16th October at Clwb Ifor Bach. The line up is yet to be announced. Last year’s concert featured eight of the twelve shortlisted acts and many people attending the concert remarked that they had discovered new music which they would not normally have watched live.

Tickets, priced at £10 go on sale today (Monday 19th August) from

For further information please contact

Elin Rees at or

Marc Thomas at