The AIM Independent Music Awards return for a 4th year – tickets on sale now

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) are pleased to announce the return of the AIM Independent Music Awards for 2014.

Held at The Brewery in Clerkenwell on September 2nd, tickets are on sale now from

Moving from strength to strength, AIM are excited to welcome two new hosts for the fourth annual celebration of independent talent and industry. Leading the presentation of 15 awards, XFM’s long term champion of new music John Kennedy will be joined by Alice Levine, one of BBC Radio 1’s newest voices.

This is my first AIM awards and I can't wait,” said Alice. “Celebrating and highlighting the work that independent labels do is so important for their growth and for the growth of the industry as a whole. AIM is reminding us what is really important...the music. John and I will be also wearing matching suits, Ant n Dec style.

I'm delighted and honoured to be presenting the AIM Awards with Alice.” said John, “I've been involved as a judge since the Awards began and they bring well deserved recognition to the excellence of Independent labels in the UK. It's great that they represent the endeavours of tiny operators as much as the heavy hitters.

With independent music at the forefront of a stellar year for the UK industry globally, AIM will once again be celebrating the array of talent in th e independent sector. Alice stepped into the historic ‘John Peel’ slot at Radio 1 a year ago with co-presenter Phil Taggart, and has experienced first hand the impact AIM members have:

Ive worked with many different labels and artists since I joined Radio 1 last year. The independent music sector is responsible for producing some of the most exciting music in the UK and without it a lot of incredible artists wouldn't have had the chance to fulfil their potential. There is a care and a love for what they do that runs beneath the work of independents and that's worth shouting about.

Comprised of over 850 members, from small start-ups to some of the largest, most respected labels in the world, the AIM community continues to define itself as the beating heart of the UK record industry, a fitting home for an award ceremony intent on highlighting the passion, hard work and dedication of all those working for independent success.

 Alison Wenham, Chairman of AIM After the success of so many independent artists in 2013, we are looking forward to

another year when the independents triumph. The AIM Awards is the only music show to give British artists a stage uncluttered by American acts, and to shine a spotlight on the truly brilliant British independent record industry.

Last years winners included Enter Shikari, The xx, Billy Bragg and Daughter, who picked up the coveted Independent Album of The Year award for her debut on 4AD. Label of the year went to the inimitable Warp Records, while key industry figures Steve Lamacq and Gilles Peterson were recognised for their unwavering support of independent music, as was Rough Trade founder Geoff Travis.

Collecting the Pioneer Award to a standing ovation, Geoff addressed the crowd with a passionate acceptance speech:  "I'd like to say thank you to AIM for my award. It's amazing after all these years that there's an organisation that fights for our interests in such an intelligent and articulate way. It feels like if you're riding in a plane and you fall out, you've got AIM there as a parachute to protect you, and that's a very serious thing."

Shining a spotlight on the abundant success stories of 2014, the media partners and leading sponsors joining forces to deliver this year’s event include; 7digital, Amazon, CI, Disc Manufacturing Services, eMusic, The Orchard, PPL, Spotify,   AIF, DIY, Music Week, and XFM.

The awards are voted for by an expert panel of judges from across the media and music industry, with representatives from; Radio 1 and 1Xtra, 6Music, the NME, The Quietus, Drowned In Sound, Music Week, The Independent, Radio 2, Metal Hammer and Mixmag. 

The judging panel for the AIM Awards 2014 is:
Mike Walsh (XFM)
Sean Adams (DrownedInSound)
Tom Robinson (BBC 6music) 
Ben Patashnik (Journalist)
Luke Turner (The Quietus)
Pete Paphides (Journalist) Ralph Moore (Mixmag)
Ryan Newman (BBC 1Xtra) 
Elisa Bray (The Independent) 
John Kennedy (XFM)
Tim Ingham (Music Week)
DJ Target (1Xtra)
Danielle Perry (XFM)
Dan Stubbs (NME)
Janice Long (BBC R2) 
Huw Stephens (BBC R1)
Steve Lamacq (BBC 6Music)
Jen Walker (Kerrang!)
Alexander Milas (Metal Hammer) Joe Muggs (Journalist) Alice Levine (BBC R1) Mistajam (BBC 1Xtra) Lauren Martin (Thump, VICE)

Categories for the 2014 Awards:
Best Live Act
Independent Breakthrough of the Year  Hardest Working Band or Artist
Best Small Label
Special Catalogue Release of the Year
Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival
Independent Video of the Year
Indie Champion Award
Best 'Difficult' Second Album
Independent Track of the Year
PPL Award for Most Played New Artist
Independent Album of the Year
Independent Label of the Year Pioneer Award  Outstanding Contribution to Music

About AIM

AIM is a not-for-profit trade body established in 1999 to represent the UK independent music industry. Now in its 13th year, AIM acts for over 90% of the independent market, with over 800 members from small start-ups to the largest and most respected independents in the world. AIM promotes this exciting and diverse sector globally, leveraging the sector’s power as a fifth major to enable its members to grow, grasp new opportunities and break into new markets. 

In addition to the crucial role AIM plays in advocacy and lobbying for the independent sector, AIM makes a daily difference to the businesses of members by providing advice, training and business support to ensure members have the knowledge, skills and contacts needed to succeed.